+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: "Healthy Smoking"

  1. #1

    "Healthy Smoking"

    I've noticed today that this egregious scam seems to be open for business again. I first noticed it when there was an ASA adjudication against them, and they were ordered to withdraw their leaflet advertising. At that point their website was "under construction", although Google's cache had the version of the site that's back up, so I assumed that they'd taken down the site as a result of the ASA ruling. Of course, the ASA doesn't regulate claims made on websites: that's down to the trading standards people.

  2. #2
    Pontificator-in-Chief Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,352
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: "Healthy Smoking"

    Company details:

    Name & Registered Office:
    ADRIANA&CO. LIMITED
    160 REDLAND ROAD
    REDLAND BRISTOL
    AVON BS6 6YG
    Company No. 04643467

    Status: Active
    Date of Incorporation: 21/01/2003

    Country of Origin: United Kingdom

    Company Type: Private Limited Company
    Nature of Business (SIC(03)):
    7020 - Letting of own property

    _________________________________________________

    Domain Name.......... adrianaco.com
    Creation Date........ 2003-01-21
    Registration Date.... 2003-01-21
    Expiry Date.......... 2007-01-21
    Organisation Name.... Adriana&Co. Limited
    Organisation Address. 41 Lincombe Road
    Organisation Address.
    Organisation Address. Bristol
    Organisation Address. BS16 5UB
    Organisation Address. Avon
    Organisation Address. GREAT BRITAIN (UK)

    _________________________________________________

    That is clearly making claims that it can't back up!

    Gluing a microchip to the front of a card is hardly going to do much. Where's the power supply?

    It's laughable, but some people will be taken in by it. :(

    .

  3. #3

    Re: "Healthy Smoking"

    They're not the only ones selling it. These guys do as well, although they claim it's magnetic. They have some other dubious looking products as well.

  4. #4
    Pontificator-in-Chief Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,352
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: "Healthy Smoking"

    Quote Originally Posted by Mojo
    They have some other dubious looking products as well.
    Mojo, you're a master of understatement.

    Look at their Anti Ageing Soap

    This unique beauty aid has the ability to radiate 'Far-Infrared Rays'
    I think that's probably true because there's a diagram.

    The bar on the left is normal soap and on the right is Anti Ageing Beauty Soap. As you can see, the Anti Ageing Beauty Soap radiates Far-Infrared Ray by itself.


    Can't argue with that!
    .

  5. #5

    Re: "Healthy Smoking"

    The information on the "Textiles and Towelling" page seems to be more or less accurate though. At least for the moment...

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Synthetic life form accuses God of "playing science"
    By Matt in forum Fun and humour.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th May 2010, 09:29 AM
  2. Skeptics Alert : BBC3 Doco "later this year"called I Believe
    By stewgreen in forum Media: news, TV, radio.
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th February 2010, 09:59 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 23rd December 2009, 12:49 PM
  4. 5 Atrocious "Pseudo-Science" Cliches to Throw into a Black Hole
    By SorryImPsychic in forum Science and Skepticism
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 21st July 2009, 08:14 PM
  5. "Legal complaint" about "How to spot a hidden religious agenda"
    By edd in forum Politics, Society Economics & Law
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th March 2009, 09:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •